September 15, 2012 was a dark day, well at least for me it was, for those of you who don’t know that was the day the NHL announced the NHL season would not start on time and hockey fans everywhere would be waiting. For those of you who don’t know me well I love hockey, I love the smell of the rink, I love the camaraderie of the fans and players, I love how a hockey player is unlike any other guy I’ve ever talked to, and I love how people who also love hockey always seem to find each other. I’m the girl who at age seven pronounced her love for Nick Lidstrom and was depressed for a week when he announced his retirement. I’m the girl who cried when Sergei Federov left the Wings to play for Russia, I’m also the girl who is convinced every single relationship I’ve had has not worked because I am meant to marry Kenny Ryan. There is a reason “Go to a Stanley Cup play-off game” is on my bucket list, and there is also a reason I intern for the Plymouth Whalers, because I simply love hockey.

So what does all this have to do with social media? Well when the lockout was announced NHL commissioner Gary  Bettman has been quoted many of times saying, “The fans will come back, just like the last time.” This has led to a social media uproar, Twitter is a buzz comparing him to Marie Antoinette, Facebook has many angry posts directed at him, and if there’s one thing I know it’s that hockey fans are not shy about throwing punches, electronically or otherwise.

Before the lockout even happened a fan named  Janne Makkonen made a video on YouTube that has gotten almost 100,000 views, this video is plea to not have a lockout. I have watched it and I have to say it is one of the most moving things I have ever seen, and it makes me miss hockey, even if I’m standing in a rink every saturday watching it. Apart from the video there where multiple efforts of fan opposition of the lockout, which makes me wonder…. Gary if you really think you have such awesome fans, why don’t you just listen to them?

Social Media has given the fans a voice and now its a little hard to shut them up, not that hockey fans even know what it’s like to be quiet. So now we wait, for hockey to come back, and in the mean time we will come together via social media to express ourselves and watch our closet OHL or AHL team…but come on it’s never the same.

